24 Feb 2014

National Geoscience Awards - 2012 Presentation Ceremony

National Geoscience Awards - 2012 Presentation Ceremony
The National Geoscience Awards-2012 will be presented by the Minister of Mines, Shri Dinsha Patel on 25th February, 2014 at 1100 hrs. at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. 

The Minister of Mines, Shri Dinsha Patel will be conferring the awards in the presence of Secretary, Ministry of Mines & Chairman, Award Making Authority, Director General, Geological Survey of India (GSI) and other senior officials of the Ministry of Mines and GSI.

National Geoscience Awards
The National Mineral Awards Scheme was instituted in the year 1966 by the Ministry of Mines. Subsequently, in the year 2009, the scope of the scheme of awards was expanded and the awards rechristened as National Geoscience Awards (NGA). 

The objective of these awards is to honour individuals and teams of scientists for their extraordinary achievements and outstanding contributions in the field of fundamental / applied geosciences, mining and allied areas to provide incentive for striving towards excellence. Any citizen of India who is a professionally qualified geoscientist / engineer / technologist / academician with significant contribution in any field of earth sciences is eligible for the award. 

The awards are conferred on persons/teams who, in the opinion of the Award Making Authority, have made outstanding contributions in the particular field of their endeavour with due consideration to the totality of the achievements of the nominee(s).

Nominations are invited annually for NGA under three categories viz. Award for Excellence (one no.), National Geoscience Awards (19 nos. in 16 fields) and Young Researcher Award (one no.). The award for excellence is conferred on an outstanding geoscientist / engineer / technologist / academician with an exceptionally high lifetime achievement for a sustained and significant contribution in any of the 16 decided disciplines. 

The National Geoscience Awards are given to persons/teams in recognition of their meritorious contribution in any of the 16 disciplines. 

The Young Researcher Award is given for outstanding research work in any field of geoscience to Researchers / Scientists from Universities, Academic and Professional Institutions and who are below 30 years of age on the 31st December of the Year of Award.

The selection of the awardees is a three tier process involving screening by expert committees at two levels and the final selection by the Award Making Authority, chaired by the Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Mines.

Till date 671 geoscientists have been conferred with the National Geoscience Awards.

National Geoscience Awards – 2012

For the year 2012, twenty seven geoscientists, including a young researcher, are being given the awards in eleven disciplines covering Mineral, Oil, Gas and Gas-Hydrates Discovery & Exploration, Groundwater Exploration, Mining Technology, Mineral Beneficiation, Basic and Applied Geoscience, Geo-environmental Studies and Ocean Development. 

This year`s Young Researcher Awardee has made a mark in national and international forums for his outstanding work in the futuristic fields of carbon sequestration and nuclear waste management.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts